A few scraps from a previous life in the U.S., 1990-92

Moving to the U.S. in August 1990 was a challenge for a while, on various levels. One such challenge was adjusting to air conditioning: for the first few months it seemed like I had a constant cold.
My friend and colleague Pablo Helguera decided to mark the trait for future remembrance… Here it is, then. Eventually AC was fine, as was all else.

1990helgueraw

Hand-made flyers from my Chicago days, performing regularly at alternative venues under the tutelage of luminaries such as Dolores Wilber, Andy Somma and Thax Douglas. I also very briefly fronted the “Litany of Garbage” band, for one single gig and one single rehearsal if memory does not betray me. Diana Mars, Penelope A. Treat and Barbara Elektra Droth were amazing creative partners throughout. Club Lower Links in particular was a site of pilgrimage where anything went… The World seemed endless.

1991soma 1992thaxw

