Joeboy in Brussels

Back in 1987 I spent the month of August in Brussels and decided to try and interview Steven Brown for BLITZ, a Portuguese music weekly. Pre-internet, information was scarce (and Isabelle’s encyclopaedic book was certainly still a long way down the line), so Steven generously agreed to providing historical insights and future plans. I was therefore able, for example, to discredit the myth that Tuxedomoon had been protegés of Ornette Coleman, as a friend back home insisted…

We met at the Falstaff (a classic brasserie in central Brussels) for a first touchbase, and met again a few days later at Steven’s place to wrap it up. It was at his place that I first saw an actual LP copy of Joeboy in Rotterdam / SF – and duly nagged Steven to either make me a tape copy or lend it to me. Steven kindly let me take it, under oath of proper care and return, which I did after taping it on the most expensive metal tape I could afford.

This LP was the holy grail back then, before it began circulating discreetly in blogs and sharing platforms… The LP as a whole is not exactly the most coherent set of sounds, but it is quite a collection of contextual landmarks in the band’s early History…

joeboyrotterdam joeboysf

